Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball during practice swing

Getty Images

Getty Images

Johnson stepped onto the 13th tee box confidently with driver in hand looking to shake off his second bogey in six holes, but on a practice swing, he accidentally caught a piece of his golf ball.

Johnson ended his second round with a 73, a slight improvement over his day-one score of 74, as he aims for a repeat of his Masters-winning performance 12 years ago. So Johnson re-teed and found the fairway.

Johnson clipped his ball on one of the swings.

The ball appeared to ricochet off the tee marker on the right, before coming to rest a couple of metres away.

Luckily for Johnson, the rules actually helped him on this one, and Johnson knew the rule immediately. I thought I had done it all but now I know I've done it all.

"If a teed ball falls off the tee or is knocked off the tee by the player before the player has made a stroke at it, it may be re-teed anywhere in the teeing area without penalty".

The 43-year old was not assessed a penalty and the shot did not count as a stroke as Johnson had no intention to hit the ball. "Maybe I've tried to do it, but I don't think I could do it again even if I tried". He finished with a birdie on the par-5 13th, which moved him to 1 under on the afternoon.

Johnson, playing with Phil Mickelson and Matt Kuchar, told the golfers they could laugh at his mistake.

"He doesn't let me forget many things", Johnson said, "But, hey, you get what you deserve".

Latest News