Elections: Phase 1 Begins

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Meet 107-year-old Sumitra Rai Sikkim's oldest voter

Odisha Election-2019 begins tomorrow

Bhubaneswar: Stage is set for the grandest festival of democracy in Odisha as the four-phase Lok Sabha and Assembly polls will commence in the state from tomorrow.

On the security arrangements for the polls, Inspector General of Police Sunil Garg said, "We have deployed 45 companies of Central Armed Paramilitary Forces (CAPF) comprising ITBP, CRPF, IRBn, along with over 7,000 state civil police personnel".

While 26 candidates are in the fray to contest for 4 Lok Sabha seats, there are 191 candidates in 28 Assembly segments for the first phase. Counting of votes will be done on May 23.

In 2014, the TRS won 11 MP seats, followed by Congress with 2 seats and 1 TDP, 1 YSRCP, 1 BJP and 1 AIMIM.

Union ministers V K Singh and Mahesh Sharma are BJP candidates in Ghaziabad and Gautam Budh Nagar, respectively. In Bihar, voting is under way in four - Aurangabad, Gaya, Nawada and Jamui - out of 40 seats.

Odisha Election-2019 begins tomorrow
Polling underway for 42 LS seats in Andhra, Telangana

Four seats in Assam will go to polls, with former CM Tarun Gogoi's son Gaurav Gogoi testing poll waters from Kaliabor.

Polls will go as per schedule in the state, the Election Commission has said.

Polling in all the Lok Sabha constituencies of Andhra Pradesh (25), Telangana (17), Uttarakhand (5), Meghalaya (2) and Arunachal Pradesh (2) besides lone seats in Mizoram, Tripura, Manipur, Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar, and Lakshadweep is being held.

India votes as part of the first phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019.

The fate of 52 candidates will be decided by over 78 lakh voters of the state, where all the five seats - Tehri, Pauri, Haridwar, Almora and Nainital - are being held by the BJP.

Latest News