900mn to vote in Indian elections, but expats in Oman can't

AIR Pics

AIR Pics

1st phase polling to be held on 11th April, 2nd phase on 18th April, 3rd phase on 23rd April, 4th phase polling to be held on 29th April, 5th phase polling on 6th May, 6th phase polling on 12th May, 7th phase 12th May. As a precautionary move, they had held back from announcing the final schedule though the season is set to get underway on March 23 and only released the fixtures for the first two weeks.

The EVMs and postal papers could carry photographs of contestants in the ensuing Lok Sabha elections.

There is a high probability of the elections being spread across seven to eight phases this time.

With the model code of conduct for elections coming into immediate effect, the government can not announce any policy move that may impact voters' decision.

Addressing a presser in Bhubaneswar today, the CEO said that elections will be conducted in a total of four and five Lok Sabha seats of Odisha in the first phase and second phase respectively, while elections for six Lok Sabha seats each will be conducted in the third and fourth phase.

However, all political parties in the state favoured simultaneous polls during a meeting with the Election Commission earlier this week.

The state has been under President's Rule after the ruling alliance between the BJP and Peoples Democratic Party fell apart past year. Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Goa, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Daman and Diu.

PM Modi seems to be making quick sprints in different states, carrying out rallies along with the government functions ahead of the announcement of the election dates.

The required electronic voting machines and paper trail machines are in place to be deployed in almost 10 lakh polling stations across 543 Lok Sabha constituencies. In a tweet, Indian Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, said: "The festival of democracy, Elections are here".

Candidates and political parties shall include all expenditure on campaigning, including expenditure on advertisement on social media in their election expenditure account.

In phase 6, scheduled on May 12, the seats of Giridih, Dhanbad, Jamshedpur and Singhbhum would go to polls.

Latest News