4 with Seahawks ties named Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists


Champ Bailey, Ed Reed, Tony Gonzalez among finalists for Pro Football HOF

Gonzalez, who spent 12 of his 17 National Football League seasons with the Chiefs, earned 14 Pro Bowl selections, made six All-Pro teams and was chosen to the NFL's All-Decade Team (2000s).

Former Cowboys executive Gil Brandt and Broncos owner Pat Bowlen previously were chosen as 2019 finalists as contributors, and former Kansas City Chiefs player Johnny Robinson is a finalist as a senior candidate. While with the Chiefs, Gonzalez was named to 10 Pro Bowls and earned five All-Pro nods.

Reed was first selected in the first round, 24th overall, in the 2002 NFL Draft, and was noted as NFL's top interceptor in 2004, 2008 and 2010 to become just the second player in NFL history to lead NFL in interceptions three times.

Law made five Pro Bowls and was a member of the 2000s All-Decade team.

He will be joined in balloting on February 2 by Steve Atwater, Tony Boselli, Isaac Bruce, Don Coryell, Tom Flores, Steve Hutchinson, Edgerrin James, Ty Law, John Lynch, Kevin Mawae and Richard Seymour. Ravens safety Ed Reed, in his first year of eligibility, and Broncos safety Steve Atwater, also are among the 15 finalists announced Thursday.

Results will be announced on the eve of Super Bowl LIII, with the Hall of Fame class first introduced during the NFL Honors awards ceremony. He was elected to the SWC Hall of Fame in 2018.

"Then he goes to Denver, and they get one game away from the Super Bowl".

Fellow cornerback Bailey played 15 seasons with Washington and Denver and was a three-time All-Pro. The defensive end totaled 496 tackles and 57.5 sacks in a 12-year career.

Safety John Lynch occupied "a spot in your mind", according to former Lions great Barry Sanders. Coryell, who coached the high-powered offenses of the Cardinals and Chargers in the 1970s and '80s, is a five-time finalist.

Latest News