India bowl; Krunal and Khaleel handed T20I debuts

Sachin Tendulkar Weighs In On MS Dhoni

Sachin Tendulkar praised MS Dhoni's contribution to Indian cricket

The Windies are a different team when it comes to T20s, with the likes of Keiron Pollard, Andre Russell, skipper Carlos Brathwaite, Dareen Bravo and latest sensation Shimron Hetmyer in their ranks. Carlos Brathwaite will captain the visitors.

India would be looking to continue their domination over the West Indies when they take on the Caribbeans in the first T20I of the three-match series at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday.

Left-hander Darren Bravo, meanwhile, has not played worldwide cricket in two years because of a protracted dispute with Cricket West Indies, and the last of his 12 T20s came four years ago.

Besides leading India to their maiden and only T20 World Cup triumph in 2007, Dhoni is also the most capped player in the shortest format, featuring in 93 of India's 104 matches.

Yuzvendra Chahal missed out from the 12 named on match eve. West Indies are also the only team to have won the ICC World T20 title twice.

On the other hand, India are all set to play a T20I match at home without MS Dhoni for the first time.

Dhoni has been left out of India's T20 squad for the home series against West Indies and, more significantly, India's tour of Australia. Last year July, they stunned the Indians by nine wickets in Jamaica and the previous year, won a one-run thriller in Florida.

"He anyway plays the ODIs for us regularly, so".

West Indies, the defending T20 World champion, will have a new captain and a refurbished squad to challenge the host, which strives to maintain its sway going into the final leg of the bi-lateral series which begins here at the Eden Gardens on Sunday.

Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, K Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav.

Full squad: Fabian Allen, Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Obed McCoy, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Sherfane Rutherford and Oshane Thomas.

Latest News