Facebook bug set 14 million users’ sharing settings to public

A Facebook booth is seen at the China International Big Data Industry Expo in Guiyang Guizhou province China

A Facebook booth is seen at the China International Big Data Industry Expo in Guiyang Guizhou province China

In the process of creating this feature, Facebook said it accidentally made the suggested audience for all new posts public. The tool usually remains on the setting that was used most recently so that a user who only wants to share posts with friends does not have to keep selecting that option.

Facebook estimates that 14 million users are affected by the glitch, and is notifying them of it.

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg was questioned for two days on Capitol Hill in April about the importance of user security. The message from Facebook urged users to "Please Review Your Posts", and gave them a link to a list of what they shared on Facebook while the bug was active.

Huawei claimed Wednesday it neither collected nor stored Facebook user data, after the social media giant acknowledged it shared such data with Huawei and other manufacturers. The bug affected Facebook posts between May 18 and 27; although Facebook fixed the error on May 22, it took five days to reverse the problem for all affected posts. Facebook will soon start individually informing the people who were affected by the bug. It's admitting the mistake itself, doing so promptly, and proactively notifying anyone who is affected.

A Facebook booth is seen at the China International Big Data Industry Expo in Guiyang, Guizhou province, China, on May 27, 2018.

Facebook tells TechCrunch that it hears loud and clear that it must be more transparent about its product and privacy settings, especially when it messes up.

Facebook confirmed earlier this week that China-based Huawei - which has been banned by the United States military and is a lightning rod for cyberespionage concerns - was among device makers authorized to see user data in agreements that had been in place for years. This means any posts that they made could be read by anyone regardless of their default setting. These featured items are publicly visible, but Facebook inadvertently extended that setting to all new posts from those users.

Latest News