Both CPI-M, BJP confident of forming government in Tripura

A woman shows her ink-marked finger after casting vote during re-polling of Tripura Assembly elections in Agartala on Monday. | PTI

A woman shows her ink-marked finger after casting vote during re-polling of Tripura Assembly elections in Agartala on Monday. | PTI

Three north-eastern states - Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura are eagerly waiting for the Assembly Election Results 2018.

The exit polls in the north-east states have revealed that it is going to be an interesting fight in Nagaland.

Four prominent parties are fighting the poll battle in Tripura - Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM), Indian National Congress (INC), Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) and All India Trinamool Congress (AITC).

Polling to Charilam (ST) seat in Tripura was postponed till the 12th of next month due to the death of CPIM candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma. The terms of Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura assemblies end on March 6, March 13 and March 14, respectively, and the entire election process is already over and the results are expected to be declared by March 3.

The voter-turnout in Tripura was 92 per cent, setting a new record in the electoral history of India. Back in early 2014, Election Metrics had analysed several general elections in India (at the state level) to show that in a two-cornered contest, small margins in vote shares can lead to big differences in seats. Besides declaring pre-poll alliance with the NPF, both the NPP and the JD (U) in Nagaland have expressly declared in the agreements that T R Zeliang shall be the chief minister of the state should the NPF form the next government with its allies. The BJP- NDPP is excepted to win 27-32 seats according to the JannKiBaat-NewsX exit poll while the C-Voter exit polls predict that it will win 25-31.The ruling NPF is excepted to lose power in the state with JannKiBaat-NewsX exit poll predicting that it will get 20-25 and the C-Voter giving it 19-25.

Counting of votes will begin at 8 am. State chief electoral officer Abhijit Sinha said the polling percentage was on the basis of voting till 4.30 pm and the figure was likely to go up as voting was completed in 1,500 out of the 2,056 booths across the state till then.

To the advantage of the Congress it has fielded candidates in all the constituencies, followed by the NPP in 52 constituencies, the BJP in 47 and the UDP in 35. The newly floated NDPP, forged a pre-poll alliance with the BJP.

How many parliamentary constituencies are there in Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland? A total of 372 candidates contested the Meghalaya assembly elections.

Meanwhile, just 24-hours after the polls, state Congress president Kewe Khape Therie said the party "will draw a blank" as its candidates were on an "abandoned ship".

The exit poll by JanKiBaat-NewsX has predicted that the National People's Party (NPP) will win 23-27 seats with 39 percent vote share and its ally will win 8-12 seats with a vote share of 12 percent.

C-Voter predicts that the Congress win 0-2 seats, while the other exit polls predict that the party will not be winning any seats in the state.

Latest News