FCC Readies to Publish Net Neutrality Rollback

FCC Eliminates Hard-Copy Rules Requirement

FCC To Publish Net Neutrality Rule Reversal

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is to publish on Thursday its controversial order made in December to overturn the net neutrality rules in the United States. And Mozilla, video-sharing site Vimeo, and a coalition of 23 attorney generals led by ny attorney general Eric Schneiderman did just that on Thursday.

"This misguided decision awoke a sleeping giant -the American public- and we won't stop making a ruckus until internet openness is the law of the land", tweeted Democratic FCC commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel, who dissented in December's vote.

"Repealing net neutrality will allow internet service providers to put corporate profits over consumers by controlling what we see, do, and say online", said New York's attorney general, Eric Schneiderman, who is leading the coalition, whose members also include California, Illinois, Massachusetts, New Jersey and Pennsylvania.

The rule was also unlawful because it includes "sweeping preemption of state and local laws", he said. It also prohibited internet companies from charging a fee to access customers more quickly.

The FCC voted to dissolve net neutrality back in 2017 with a 3-2 vote.

"It turned a blind eye to all kinds of corruption in our public record - from Russian intervention to fake comments to stolen identities in our files", she said. Net neutrality proponents argued that the FCC needs net neutrality to prevent ISPs from unfairly blocking, throttling, or preferring some content, while conservatives argued that net neutrality would diminish the freedom of the Internet. However, the chances of preserving net neutrality via the Congressional Review Act seem slim.

The order will be officially published tomorrow in the Federal Register. What it does do is act as a starting pistol of sorts for repeal opponents. U.S. Senate Democrats, which hold 49 seats in the 100-person chamber, have the backing of 50 senators for repeal, leaving them one vote short of a majority.

In addition to NY, attorneys general from California, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and Washington joined Thursday's petition.

Latest News