Former USC DB Ronnie Lott appointed to College Football Playoff selection committee

Report  OU Athletic Director to Join College Football Playoff Committee

Report OU Athletic Director to Join College Football Playoff Committee

Scott Stricklin, the Gators' director of athletics, was among the six new committee members who will begin serving a three-year term this spring. "We're delighted that they will be joining the committee".

Lott, 58, was an All-American defensive back at USC in 1980 before spending 14 seasons in the National Football League, primarily with the San Francisco 49ers.

He is also on the Board of Directors for the college football award with his namesake, the Lott IMPACT Trophy, which is given to the nation's best player in character and athletic performance. Castiglione is Oklahoma's athletic director.

Stricklin has spent the majority of his career in the SEC as the AD at UF and Mississippi State, his alma mater.

Castiglione, who has led the Sooners' athletic department since 1998, has served on the NCAA baseball committee, and was the chair of the men's basketball committee (2015-16).

CFP rules dictate classifications for selection members include experience as coaches, student-athletes, administrators, journalists or sitting director of athletics.

While the connections might come in useful should Air Force, which went 5-7 this past season, enjoy a remarkable turnaround season or find itself as one of the top Group of Five teams in upcoming years.

Pro and College Football Hall of Fame safety Ronnie Lott was announced as one of the newest members of the College Football Playoff Selection Committee on Wednesday.

Along with these additions, Oregon AD Rob Mullens will be taking over the chair position from Texas Tech AD Kirby Holcott.

Boivin, an IL alumn, spent more than 20 years at The Arizona Republic before she took a job in the sports journalism program at Arizona State University's Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Latest News